18 Comments
Nov 15, 2019Liked by Katherine Spiers

Julia Child Mastering the Art of French Cooking, Chrissy Teigen Cravings, Ed Lee Smoke & Pickles, the Bob’s Burgers Cookbook (really!), Esquire Eat Like a Man (even if the title sucks)

Expand full comment
Jan 19, 2020Liked by Katherine Spiers

It depends! For actually cooking it's Betty Crocker's Cooking for Two cook book (love the meatloaf recipe!). But for general fascination? It's my vintage/antique cookbook collection I've bought in antique stores. A few of them are from the late 1800s/early 1900s like Miss Parloa's New Cookbook and Marketing Guide, The House and Home (two volumes, dated late 1800s and talks about how women can easily do any job except 'hard labor' such as being soldiers or firefighters), and one of my favorites... The Century Cookbook and Home Physician - that one I think is late 1800s also and it is fascinating to look through. Vincent Price's cookbook is really interesting too.

Expand full comment
Nov 15, 2019Liked by Katherine Spiers

The first cookbook I really relied on was Beth Hensperger's Not Your Mother's Slow Cooker Cookbook. Set it, forget it, and yield enough for several days. A more recent fave Samin Nosrat's Salt Fat Acid Heat reorganized how I thought about building a dish beyond primary flavors. There's also my mom's faded copy of Gourmet Quick Kitchen.

Expand full comment
Nov 15, 2019Liked by Katherine Spiers

Honestly - Cravings by Chrissy Teigan. The recipes are no fail and just consistently delicious. Both books have been a pleasant surprise. But I also really liked Jessica Seinfeld’s Deceptively Delicious cookbooks so maybe I have not such a sophisticated palate? (Seriously though-her recipes are really very good for simple/healthy food).

Expand full comment
Nov 15, 2019Liked by Katherine Spiers

Bravetart and Sister Pie are definitely my favorite baking books, and for general cookbooks I really like both Smitten Kitchen cookbooks and both of Julia Turshen's cookbooks.

Expand full comment
Nov 15, 2019Liked by Katherine Spiers

Joy of Cooking is pulled out for every holiday. I still love Moosewood and Julie Katzen, and was lucky to meet when I helped catered her Berkeley wedding in 1983. Paula Wolfert is an amazing chef so her books are keepers. Silver Palate, Volume 1 is still pretty great.

Expand full comment